The Arrival of Finley Grace

11-15-2014Lind-103

The Months Leading Up to Her Arrival

June 30, 2014:

20 weeks pregnant; Little buddy- 4 months old

IMG_5838It was a sweet but challenging pregnancy. Not only was I adjusting to being a new mommy to our newborn foster son, but vomiting became part of my daily routine-usually several times a day. I was grateful by week 20 when it went from several times a day to just a few times a week. That was considered a success. An aqua beach pail from the dollar store became a close companion.

       preggp      bb      preggo 2

Despite the sickness, I was grateful to God for sustaining the sweet life inside of me.

August 17, 2014:

28 weeks pregnant; Little buddy 6 months old

IMG_6209           IMG_6228

 The Lord gave much grace to both Joel and I in the midst of the challenges, and we stood in awe of His faithfulness as we watched our little buddy grow outside of me, and our even littler one grow inside of me.

September 26, 2014:

33 weeks pregnant; Little buddy- 7 months old

IMG_6458

At this point I started to receive some confused looks while out in public. I grew tired of responding and explaining when people said, “Wow, those two will be close in age”.

November 13, 2014:

40 weeks pregnant

At last, after 9 long months, contractions began one chilly November evening. It was time to meet the newest member of our family-and find out if it was a boy or girl! After laboring at home as long as Joel (and my mother) would let me, we headed to the hospital at 2:00 AM, November 13th, my due date.

IMG_6888               IMG_6889

By the time we arrived to our room, I was dilated to 6 cm. Labor continued to progress quickly and naturally-this little one was coming quickly, so we thought. Joel assisted me in staying focused on my breathing and my mother assisted Joel in whatever he needed…it was quite the team. Joel also made sure to brush his teeth plenty so that he could continue to be in my face helping me breathe without me complaining about his breath. 🙂

 IMG_7049      IMG_6890

Around 7AM labor began to stall. Though our little one was head down, he or she was face up, which was not ideal, and quite painful, especially without an epidural. However, by God’s grace, the help of an amazing nurse, and Joel and my mom on each side of me, after 3.5 hours of pushing and repeating Isaiah 41:10 in my mind, “I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you”, I gave one final push. After 15 hours of labor, our sweet little girl entered into the world on November 13th, 2014, at 12:35 PM.

IMG_7050           IMG_6818

Finley Grace Lind, 7lb 10oz, 21inches

IMG_6892

November 23, 2014:

Finley Grace- 10 days old; Little buddy- 9 months old

11-15-2014Lind-59

Little buddy loves his new little sister. He enjoys trying to eat her toes and giving her kisses by licking the top of her head. Finley is a feisty and talkative little girl. She has added much noise and joy to our home!

11-15-2014Lind-26       IMG_7130

Within nine months we have gone from a family of 2 to a family of 4. Our hands are full and our nights don’t involve much sleep with two babies eight months apart but we are grateful for the blessing of children! We pray that little buddy would be able to be in our family as Finley’s big brother forever.

11-15-2014Lind-41                 IMG_7231

“Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them!” -Psalm 127:3-5

11-15-2014Lind-13 11-15-2014Lind-53

One comment

  1. I have been so touched by your story. Thank you for sharing with the world. I began my foster journey last year and also recived placement of a newborn baby boy. He has since left to be adopted by very distant relatives and my heartache and struggles were greater than I ever imagined. I had a vison in our Christmas Eve service of God Reaching down and opening his arms, asking me to place baby Jacob there and to trust HIM. I did and immediatley felt comforted, however it doesnt make the pain less.
    I was able to reach Jacobs mother who is incarcerated and began sharing my journey and love for God.
    My pain has allowed the life of a womeb with a horrible past to have a new chance in life. Ti know the love and forgivness of Jesus. We talk every few days and she gets so excited to share with me a new verse she has read or poem she has written by now knowing our GOD.
    Many people have also told me Im crazy. Crazy for fostering, crazy for speaking and witnessing to an inmate whose child I will never probably see again, and how they also could never do this, and truthfully after loosing Jacob I wasnt sure I could do this again. I didnt know my strength and prayed that God please reveal to me the path I should take. A week later I received another call. A 10mo old girl who was also born heroin positive was coming into care. She was covered in burns and bruises and needed a place to be safe. I prayed and felt there was no question but to say yes. I know that she will be returning to her birth parents as soon as they are able to overcome their addiction.
    This little girl is amazing. Im overcome with emotions again as I became immediatley “too attached” as you worded it. I know and trust tho that Gods plan for me is to allow these children a chance to know Him. To speak to thier parents about Him and to care for His children. My pain is nothing compared to that of Christ and I remind myself of that daily. Thank you for sharing your story with me. It has made me and my journey reconfirmed in knowing this is Gods will and His plan for me. Bless you all!

Leave a Reply

