On your 2nd Birthday, my Son

Dear Little Buddy,

Being able to celebrate you on your 2nd birthday is an incredible gift from the Lord. A gift we have earnestly asked the Lord for but could only hope for. One year ago we joyfully celebrated your 1st birthday while nervously bracing ourselves for a painful good-bye. I am in awe of how the Lord has worked and I praise Him that this year we not only get to celebrate your 2nd birthday, but we get to eagerly await your adoption day!

Last night as I was putting you to bed, I closed the book we were reading and said, like I always do, “Son, I love you.” You looked back at me with a sweet, toothy grin and as I began to pray, you softly whispered “Dadda”. This is not a new word for you. You have been saying it for quite some time now, but there are moments when it just seems you understand. Moments where you realize it is a word different than the many other words in your two year old vocabulary. You look at me, your round blue eyes full of trust, and calmly say “Dadda”, as though you grasp that I am your father and that you are loved, safe and mine.

I love you, son, more than I can express in words. You are smart and sensitive like your mommy and learning new things each day. You are crazy and silly like your sissy and take every opportunity you can to make her giggle. You are brave and daring like I was when I was as a little boy. Each day is an adventure for you and you love to bring us along with you on it. You bring such joy to our family and we are so grateful that you will soon be ours, forever a Lind! I feel honored and proud to call you my son. There are very few words that I can speak that mean more to me than son. Calling you son has caused me to see more fully the love that God had for us in sending his Son to die for sinners in order that we could call him our Father. My prayer for your second birthday is that you would soon put your trust in God’s Son, Jesus, and call your heavenly Father, Dadda as well.

I love you son.

Love,

Dadda

Little Buddy’s Top Ten:

10: Gathering sticks, rocks and jumping in puddles

9: Dancing and being silly with daddy, mommy and sissy

8: Reading “The Very Hungry Caterpillar”

7: Emptying out the kitchen cabinets and closing yourself inside

6: Throwing things away in the garbage

5: Playing in Papa’s jeep

4: Taking a bath

3: Hugging and giving kisses to sissy, whether she welcomes it or not

2: Sitting in corners and hoarding toys around you

1: Rubbing Coco’s tag on your nose

sammy and kitty

 

Favorite words:

Goodtogo: Motorcycle or 4-wheeler

Goodtogo-papa: motorcycle with papa on it

Racketball: Tennis, basketball and soccer

Football

Capica: Africa or pizza

Api: Pacifier or airplane

Staw: Star

Coco, Sissy, Mama, Daddy, yeah, Truck, Big Truck, cup, fish, neigh, Papa, Pops, bus

 

 

2 comments

  1. You made me cry!!. I still have tears in my eyes. So beautiful that God has given you to each other…a father and a son. Such a gift. Love you 4.Cathy, for Ken, too

  2. Hey you two. we met you at the foster care CEU session down at L & N building last month? We were the “older” couple sitting over there by the instructor. Anyway just wanted you to know I found your article in The Gospel Coalition. Thank you so much for mentioning it. Blessings and keep in touch!
    Dan and Sarah Sheets

Leave a Reply

